Addressing Your Questions About Workers’ Comp In Pennsylvania
There can be a lot to figure out after an on-the-job injury. As you gather the information and evidence you need to create a solid workers’ comp claim, you may wonder how seeking benefits works in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.
At Stine & Associates, P.C., we help Pennsylvania workers like you seek the compensation they deserve. Attorney Cindy Stine has handled these cases for almost 30 years and guided workers’ comp clients through numerous unique situations. These are some of the most frequently asked questions we hear:
Who does workers’ compensation cover in Pennsylvania?
Most employees across all occupational sectors can seek workers’ compensation coverage in Pennsylvania. Workers’ comp coverage also extends to seasonal and part-time workers.
Any employee who doesn’t qualify for workers’ comp coverage in Pennsylvania is usually already covered under other compensation laws. These types of employees include railroad workers, agricultural workers, federal employees and longshoremen.
What types of injuries does workers’ compensation cover?
Any injury on the job can make workers eligible for compensation. A few examples of these types of injuries include:
- Repetitive stress injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Neck and back injuries
- Occupational diseases
- Hand injuries
- Broken bones
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Injuries involving electric shock
Pennsylvania also recognizes mental health and trauma-related injuries for those seeking benefits. Speak with one of our attorneys to learn if your specific condition qualifies; call 724-837-0160 today.
What happens if my employer or their insurer denies my claim?
If your application gets denied, that doesn’t mean you’re out of luck when seeking benefits. You can appeal your rejected claim by petitioning the Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry and appealing the denial before a judge. The statute of limitations for filing an appeal is typically around three years. However, circumstances can vary.
How long do I have to notify my employer about my injury?
If you get hurt on the job, you have approximately four months, or 120 days, to notify your employer about your injury. Ensuring you file your claim within this time frame is crucial. If you don’t, you could risk your rights to seek compensation to cover your injuries.
Learn More – Contact Our Firm Today.
Navigating the procedures, processes and paperwork of seeking workers’ compensation can feel confusing and burdensome. However, proper knowledge can help you feel more confident when seeking benefits. If you have further questions or concerns regarding your situation, we are happy to answer them. Call our office today at 724-837-0160 or email us.